C8 β-polypeptide deficiency

C8 is composed of three polypeptide chains (alfa, beta, and gamma), each encoded by distinct genes. The three C8 genes are expressed in hepatocytes. Two types of C8 deficiency exist, and both result in loss of total hemolytic complement activity. C8beta deficiency is more common in Caucasians and C8alfa-gamma deficiency is more common in African-Americans.

Alternative names

C8 deficiency, type II

C8 beta deficiency

Complement component 8, beta subunit deficiency


  • Defects of the classical complement cascade proteins
    • C8 deficiency


Autosomal recessive


+120960 Complement component 8 deficiency, type II


Incidence is not known.